ANNUAL COTTON GENETICS RESEARCH AWARD



To Recognize and Encourage Basic Research in Cotton Genetics, Cytogenetics, and Breeding.

n annual cotton Genetics Research Award was established in 1961 by the commercial cotton breeders of the United States to recognize and encourage basic research in cotton genetics, cytogenetics and breeding. It is administered by the Joint Cotton Breeding Committee consisting of representatives of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, state experiment stations, commercial breeders, and the National Cotton Council. **NATURE OF AWARD**. The award consists of \$1,000 in cash and a specially designed plaque. When feasible, the award will be presented at a function in connection with the Annual Beltwide Cotton Production Conference which is usually held in January.

ELIGIBILITY. Any person who has accomplished outstanding basic research in cotton genetics, cytogenetics or breeding at public or other non-profit research institutions in the United States is eligible to be nominated for the award. The award will be made generally to individuals, but in special cases, it may be shared by two or more co-workers.

NOMINATIONS. Any person may make nominations for the award. A nominee shall be automatically eligible for consideration in two successive award years, without a new nomination being submitted. However, additional or new information on a nominee may be provided the second year. Nominations must be in writing and should be accompanied by the following:

- 1. Name and address of nominee.
- 2. Present title or position.
- 3. Education, academic degrees.
- 4. Other honors, awards, or recognitions.
- 5. Brief history of employment, including special assignments.
- 6. Membership in scientific and professional societies.
- 7. Major publications.
- 8. Presentation and evaluation of the research accomplishment for which the award is proposed.
- 9. A seconding letter to the nomination.

Six hard copies of the nomination and supporting material by mail or an electronic PDF via email should be submitted on or before Friday, November 18, 2016 to:

> Dr. Bill Norman Joint Cotton Breeding Committee c/o Technical Services National Cotton Council 7193 Goodlett Farms Parkway Cordova, TN 38016 bnorman@cotton.org

Previous Recipients of the Cotton Genetics Research Award

S.G. Stephens	1961	Jerry E. Quisenberry	1988
T. K. Richmond and		John R. Gannaway	1989
Dr. T. Kerr	1962	Jack C. McCarty, Jr.	1990
James R. Meyers	1963	F. Douglas Wilson	1991
Meta S. Brown	1964	Dick Davis	1992
Charles F. Lewis	1965	Kamal M. El-Zik	1993
Lyle L. Phillips	1966	Luther S. Bird	1994
Paul A. Fryxell	1967	David M. Stelly	1995
Phillip A. Miller	1968	W. R. Meredith, Jr.	1996
John E. Endrizzi	1969	Glen Staten	1997
Russell J. Kohel	1970	A. Edward Percival	1998
Joshua A. Lee	1971	James McD. Stewart	1999
Johnie N. Jenkins	1972	Norma Lee Trolinder	2000
No Award Given	1973	Fred M. Bourland	2001
Vesta G. Meyer	1974	Roy G. Cantrell	2002
David Cuttino Harrell	1975	Peggy M. Thaxton	2003
W. R. Meredith and		C. Wayne Smith	2004
Dr. E. L. Turcotte	1976	Daryl Bowman	2005
Robert R. Bridge	1977	Richard Percy	2006
No Award Given	1978	Andy Paterson	2007
Brad A. Waddle	1979	Al Bell, Forest Robinson	
Levon L. Ray	1980	And Dave Stelly	2008
T. W. Culp	1981	Carl Feaster	2009
J.B. Weaver	1982	Sukumar Saha	2010
G.A. Niles	1983	Keerti S. Rathore	2011
W.P. Sappenfield	1984	Jane Dever	2012
Jack E. Jones	1985	Wesley J. Malloy, Jr.	2013
Raymond E. Shepherd	1986	Jodi Scheffler	2014
Laval M. Verhalen	1987	David B. Weaver	2015

10/16